You have no items in your shopping cart. Browse our store, or close this menu and use the search feature to find what you're looking for.

Items: 0
Total: $0.00
The Journey Is Long
Release Date: 06/04/2012
Catalogue No.: FMG121
Record Label: Fuse Distribution
Format: CD

The Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project is following 2009’s acclaimed We Are Only Riders album with a second volume of the late Gun Club leader’s previously-unreleased works-inprogress, brought to life by old friends, collaborators and acolytes.

Pierce died from a brain haemorrhage in 1996 but left a legacy of unrecorded and unfinshed tracks. His band the Gun Club, poured America’s roots music forms into a post-punk blender, releasing a series of iconic albums in the ‘80s that influenced a generation of artists and songwriters.

On this compilation, artists spill into each other’s tracks, reinterpreting or finishing Pierce’s lyrical and melodic sketches, while some chose personal favourites from his catalogue.

1. City In Pain – Nick Cave
2. I’m Going Upstairs – Hugo Race
3. From Death To Texas – Steve Wynn
4. The Breaking Hands
– Mark Lanegan & Isobel Campbell
5. The Jungle Book – The Amber Lights
6. Rose’s Blues
– Bertrand Cantat, Pascal Humbert,
Warren Ellis, Cypress Grove
7. Zonar Roze
– Thalia Zedek and Chris Brokaw
8. L.A. County Jail Blues – Cypress Grove
9. I Wanna Be You – Barry Adamson
10. Sonny Boy – Mick Harvey
11. Book Of Love – Vertical Smile
12. Body And Soul – Astro-Unicorn
13. The Brink – Lydia Lunch
14. The Breaking Hands
– Nick Cave And Debbie Harry
15. In My Room
– Tex Perkins & LYDIA LUNCH
16. The Jungle Book
– Tav Falco & Panther Burns
17. St. Marks Place – Mick Harvey
18. Ain’t My Problem Baby
– The Jim Jones Revue

This is not a tribute album but original recordings of brand new material from ‘beyond the grave’.



Be the first to write a review.

The Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project

The Journey Is Long

Purchase CD
AUD $23.95 (inc. GST)