You have no items in your shopping cart. Browse our store, or close this menu and use the search feature to find what you're looking for.

Items: 0
Total: $0.00
The Black Balloon
Release Date: 01/03/2008
Catalogue No.: INCD20081
Record Label: Inertia Distribution
Format: CD

‘The Black Balloon’ is the confronting and raw but funny and tender debut feature from Australian director ELISSA DOWN. For the soundtrack, composer Michael Yezerski created a dynamic score of many moods, textures and accents to highlight the layers of emotion in the story. The music dips & soars with sudden shifts of rhythm & he unifies the whole by recurring stylistic devices rather than one big theme. Michael Yezerski also composed a number of songs that bring into the mix the noteworthy talents of JOSH PYKE, SIMON DAY (RATCAT) & DAVID CAMPBELL. GLENN RICHARDS (AUGIE MARCH) performs a haunting rendition of NEIL FINN’s elegiac ‘Fall at Your Feet’ The whole is a dramatic & vivid soundscape that conveys the vastly different emotional worlds of the two brothers and moves the viewer along in a restless flow of musical energy. JOSH PYKE’s “When We Get There” was an instant addition to Triple J’s playlist!!! The big news is that the film won the ‘Golden Bear for Generation’ at last week’s Berlin Film Festival. A big honour & a taste of the recognition this is due to collect here in Australia



Be the first to write a review.


The Black Balloon

Purchase CD
AUD $25.95 (inc. GST)