You have no items in your shopping cart. Browse our store, or close this menu and use the search feature to find what you're looking for.

Items: 0
Total: $0.00

Copy the html code below to link to the Spain waterfront page:



Spain are an American rock band, formed in Los Angeles, California in 1993, and led by Josh Haden. Their debut album The Blue Moods of Spain was released in September 1995. From it, their song "Spiritual" was covered by Johnny Cash on his 1996 Unchained album, and by Soulsavers on their 2007 release It's Not How Far You Fall, It's the Way You Land. Spain's second album She Haunts My Dreams was recorded in 1999 on the Swedish island of Vaxholm, and contained performances by the late Swedish jazz pianist Esbjorn Svensson, Soundtrack of our Lives guitarist Bjorn Olsson, and sometime R.E.M. and Beck drummer Joey Waronker. This album contained the song "Every Time I Try" which director Wim Wenders included in the soundtrack to The End of Violence. Spain's third album I Believe was released in 2001, and a compilation, Spirituals: The Best Of Spain, was released in 2003.

After a period of inactivity, Haden reformed the band with new members in 2007. This second formation of the group began with Randy Kirk (keys, guitar) and Matt Mayhall (drums) who performed with several different players in the lead guitarist role while searching for a permanent member to fill the position. The band performed The Blue Moods of Spain live in its entirety at the 2007 Tanned Tin festival in Castellan, Spain, followed by several shows in the U.S.. In April 2009, Daniel Brummel (also of Ozma, Sanglorians, The Elected) joined the band as lead guitarist. This crystallization of the new lineup lead to the recording of a new single, "I'm Still Free" (b/w "Hang Your Head Down Low"), released via iTunes in January 2010, which entered rotation on KCRW 89.9 FM in Los Angeles. Music videos for both songs on the single have been posted to YouTube.

In May 2012, the new studio album The Soul of Spain was released to critical praise, especially in the European press. The group completed a European tour including dates in Belgium, Denmark, Norway, France, Germany, Holland, Italy, and Portugal, in which they performed two sets, the first set being The Blue Moods of Spain in its entirety and the second set being a mixture of repertoire from the bands other record's and the new album. This tour also saw the addition of new member Dylan McKenzie (also of Derde Verde) on acoustic guitar. More European dates in 2012 have already been announced and Haden has stated in interviews that the band is currently working on material for a fifth studio album.

IS THIS YOUR BAND? To create a login to change your page, click here.sign up