You have no items in your shopping cart. Browse our store, or close this menu and use the search feature to find what you're looking for.

Items: 0
Total: $0.00

Copy the html code below to link to the Booka and The Flaming Geckos waterfront page:

Booka and The Flaming Geckos


Robert Paul (Booka) Michel is an American percussionist and producer who has produced such albums as The Wheel (2003) by David Olney, and Fantasize (2001) by Ponty Bone and the Squeezetones, and who has performed with such musicians as Odetta, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Peter Yarrow, Hoyt Axton, Butch Hancock, David Amram, Flaco Jimenez, Jimmie Dale Gilmore, Douglas Sahm, Joe Ely, and Townes Van Zandt.

Michel adopted the nickname "Booka" at a young age and continues to use it professionally.

In 2005, Michel was approached by David H. Hickey, an Austin-based film director, with a script that Michel then decided to produce using an all-Texas cast and crew. In 2006, Michel founded Loudhouse Productions, the label under which Baghdad Texas was produced. In 2009, Baghdad Texas began making the film festival rounds, to general acclaim. 

In order to record the film's soundtrack, which he composed, Michel formed the group Booka & The Flaming Geckos with dobro guitarist Cindy Cashdollar, guitarist John X. Reed, and bassist Glenn Fukunaga. The soundtrack album also features Ray Benson, Ralph White, Zhenya Rock, Pat Murray, Kenny Franklin, Roy Heinrich, and John Blondell.

IS THIS YOUR BAND? To create a login to change your page, click here.sign up