You have no items in your shopping cart. Browse our store, or close this menu and use the search feature to find what you're looking for.

Items: 0
Total: $0.00
Release Date: 06/04/2012
Catalogue No.: PRPCD097
Record Label: Proper Records
Format: CD

Bonnie Raitt's new album 'Slipstream' is daring, bluesy, and steeped with the inimitable slide guitar and soulful vocals that could only be hers.

 ‘Slipstream’ marks her first new album in seven years.

'Slipstream' is self-produced and features Raitt’s longtime touring band, four of the album’s songs were helmed by celebrated producer Joe Henry (Allen Toussaint, Solomon Burke) and showcase his usual crew of extraordinary musicians.

Additional guests include Bill Frisell, Al Anderson (formerly of NRBQ), Ireland's Paul Brady, and Maia Sharp. The album’s twelve tracks feature Raitt’s renditions of songs by such luminaries as Bob Dylan, Joe Henry, and Loudon Wainwright III.  

After an emotional period, with such triumphs as her acclaimed 2005 release and tour for ‘Souls Alike,’ and 2009 US tour with fellow blues legend Taj Mahal alongside the tragedy of losing her parents, her brother, and her best friend, Raitt decided to step back. “I took a hiatus from touring and recording to get back in touch with the other part of my life,” Raitt says of her decision to recharge her spirit and regain her personal balance before returning to action with the experimental, exhilarating sessions with Joe Henry.

There’s no doubt that Raitt is re-energized for 2012. Yahoo! Music proclaimed "the hippest thing an artist can do these days is cover Bonnie Raitt," and since her last release, she has become a touchstone for young artists. Adele released a cover of "I Can't Make You Love Me" last year and Bon Iver's Justin Vernon called her "one of our greatest" artists during his medley of "I Can't Make You Love Me" and "Nick of Time" on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon. Rolling Stone affirmed Raitt's impact, highlighting the "sheer verve and skill" that made her one of only two women among the "100 Greatest Guitarists" in their latest issue.

Track listing: Used To Rule The World / Right Down The Line / Million Miles / You Can’t Fail Me Now / Down To You / Take My Love With You / Not Cause I Wanted To / Ain’t Gonna Let You Go / Marriage Made In Hollywood / Split Decision / Standing In The Doorway / God Only Knows.



Be the first to write a review.

Bonnie Raitt


Purchase CD
AUD $24.95 (inc. GST)